Land Use




Maine Community


HCPC Services

News, Newsletters and Press Releases

Municipal Contact Form


Web site Language Options

Find HCPC on Facebook

Find HCPC on Facebook

Hancock County
Planning Commission

A voluntary association of governments in Hancock County, Maine

HCPC has been providing planning and related government-support assistance to Hancock County municipalities since 1970. Our services now include special projects such as support for healthy communities, housing and community development planning and hazardous waste planning. Explore these developments along with our ongoing work in land use, transportation, economic development, solid waste and recycling:

Quick Link to Summer Newsletter


Sign up for HCPC Newsletter and News Blasts

Shoreland Zoning MRC Prepares for the Future
Building Permit Fees Household Hazardous Waste Collection 8/2/14
Flood Insurance Maps Downeast Coastal Corridor Plan
CDBG News Black Woods Recreation Map
Brownfields Drug Free Communities

ENVIRO-GRANTS - Application Deadline August 29, 2014
The City of Ellsworth is offering grants for protecting water resources from pollution within the Union River watershed including Ellsworth, Otis, Mariaville, Waltham, Lamoine, Orland, Surry and Fletcher's Landing. Eligible activities include:

  • Replacement of home heating tanks
  • Upgrading septic systems
  • Land conservation
  • Stormwater management
  • Others

To learn more visit or contact: www.ellsworthmaine.gov
Michele Gagnon mgagnon@ellsworthmaine.gov  669-6608
Elena Piekut epiekut@ellsworthmaine.gov  669-6615

Flashing BeaconMaineDOT Rectangular Rapid Flashing Beacon (RRFB) Program:  Solar Powered Safety Devices for approved crossings for this season at a remarkably reduced rate!  MaineDOT is in the process of buying a bulk package of RRFB's and your community has the opportunity to get them at only $4800 a pair!

RRFB’s are solar powered flashing lights that drastically improve motor vehicle compliancy rates of stopping for pedestrians in crosswalks without traffic signals.   These flashing beacons are solar powered and really grab the attention of drivers, which makes a particular crossing much more visible and safe for pedestrians.   They really make a difference in creating a walkable environment!  

Once the order comes in, alls the municipalities have to do is to install them, which is very easy.   If your community wants to request an RRFB for the $4800, please have someone from the town call Steve Landry at 624-3632 or email him at stephen.landry@maine.gov as soon as possible to discuss the potential location.  The deadline is September 3rd.

Hancock County Planning Commission Countywide Brownfields Assessment
Request for Proposals
- Submission Deadline September 22, 2014

Introducing Green Infrastructure Workshop - Planning for ResilienceCoastal Map
Monday, September 29th 2014 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Ellsworth City Hall Auditorium, 1 City Hall Plaza Ellsworth

Green Infrastructure is a network of natural areas that benefits nature and people. The green infrastructure approach to planning helps communities balance environmental and economic goals.

Registration is free, but seating is limited. Pre-register by September 3rd.

Questions: Contact Ruta Dzenis
Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry
Municipal Planning Assistance Program
207-287-2851 ruta.dzenis@maine.gov

Maine Department of Transportation Drafts Request for Proposals for Planning Partnership Initiative (Proposal Deadline: Not Applicable) A new program is under design for transportation planning that encourages towns to apply for funding of specific planning projects that can be completed in four to nine months. As proposed, towns would be responsible for 50% of the total project cost. See the draft guidelines here. Contact Jim Fisher at HCPC if you have questions. We will post the final announcement when it is available.

Special Collection of Banned and Unusable Pesticides

This October, the Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry’s (DACF) Board of Pesticides Control (BPC) will team up with the Maine Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) to help Mainers dispose of banned pesticides or unusable pesticides.

This free disposal program is open to homeowners, family-owned farms and greenhouses. Collection will occur at sites located in Presque Isle, Bangor, Augusta and Portland.

Registration by September 26, 2014, is mandatory—drop-ins are not permitted. To register, get details, and learn important information about the temporary storage and transportation of obsolete pesticides, go to the BPC Web site at thinkfirstspraylast.org , or call 207-287-2731.

MaineDOTMaineDOT Transportation Surveys

1) MaineDOT Public Opinion Survey on long-range transportation needs. This is your opportunity to help shape the future of transportation in Maine!

The Maine Department of Transportation (DOT) is asking for input for their statewide long-range transportation plan. Your answers will affect the way the Department sets goals, objectives, and strategies for future transportation projects in Maine.

2) MaineDOT Customer Satisfaction Survey: Let MaineDOT know your priorties for future transportation investments. Should MaineDOT invest in airports, transit systems smoother roads? Which is more important to you? The survey only takes a couple minutes.

Mission and Services

Select town for detailed information

Click on town for detailed information

HCPC, 395 State Street, Ellsworth, ME 04605
Voice: (207) 667-7131 Fax: (207) 667-2099
EMail: hcpc@hcpcme.org - Map to HCPC

The Hancock County Planning Commission prohibits discrimination in all its programs and activities on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, political beliefs, sexual orientation or marital or family status. The HCPC is an equal opportunity provider and employer.

Search the HCPC Web site:

Great Pond Amherst Aurora Osborn Mariaville Waltham Eastbrook Otis Dedham Bucksport Verona Island Orland Ellsworth Franklin Hancock Sullivan Penobscot Blue Hill Castine Brooksville Brooklin Deer Isle Sedgwick Stonington Swans Island Surry Trenton Tremont Lamoine Bar Harbor Mount Desert Frenchboro Southwest Harbor Cranberry Isles Sorrento Gouldsboro Winter Harbor Unorganized Territories - Townships Unorganized Territories - Townships